Guitarist/oudist/sarodiya... Now shamisen!

Hi folks! Thankss Kyle and everyone here for providing such a great resource! I’ve learned much by perusing these pages…
I’ve been a professional fretted and fretless guitarist /oudist in free jazz and improv for over 40 years and did some time with sarod as well. I also briefly studied Japanese music back in the 80s but I don’t remember much of any of it LOL.

Got a call for a gig to come up with some Japanese background vibe ambience and so I found a banger samisen on eBay to start with.

Not sure what size or style build this is…according to the listing, “Overall length is 38 1/2” (98 cm) with a box 7 1/4" x 8" x 4" (18.3 x 20 x 10 cm) and a neck width of 1" at the top (2.5 cm). " Listing also says it comes with extra strings but I’d be curious to know what strings to get in the future for it and I’m also going to need to be set up with a koma and a bachi.

Can anyone shed some light on what I have here? Thanks!!Screenshot_2019-07-28-21-06-52-1 !

Hey there, welcome.

I can identify a few things about this instrument for you. First, and easiest let’s look at the wood and skin.

Given the light brown, this is most likely made from karin - sometimes called quince. It’s the softest wood most commonly used in shamisen and is generally found in entry-level instrument necks and in all level bodies.Your itomaki, tuning pegs, are most likely ebony.

The front skin has a tear on the side left side. The rearskin may be in bad shape, owing to that bit I see curling up on the right.

As regards subtype: At 98cm, this instrument is seisun (正寸) - full size. The neck, although listed at 2.5cm seems to be slightly tapered. This means your final width is more likely 2.6~2.7. This places it in the chuuzao(中棹) or middle neck class. As expected for a chuuzao, it is squared off (often referred to as a Jiuta neck).