3D Printed Bachi

Hi, everyone! This is my first post in Bachido.
I’m an electronic engineer and with some friends made a 3D printer. We were amazed when it started to work!! My bachi has one side broken and the other was sharpened twice and I was looking for a new one. I looked to the 3D printer instead of looking on Ebay. Hehe! I designed the bachi with my computer, clicked “print”, waited 1 hour, retryed 3 times and voilá! My new bachi made of ABS plastic.

The termination isn’t PERFECT, it has some rugosity and some others details but it really good to play, it has a good flexibility and it can be customized! It’s lighter than a original acrylic bachi, it may be better for someone or worst for others. The cost… I don’t know… 1kg of ABS plastic filament cost me about US$20 and I think that I can print about 30 or more bachis.

I’m sorry if I made a sacrilege for the traditional players but I remembered that this topic was mentioned in Bachido and I couldn’t resist the temptation to do it >-

You should sell these. You’d make a lot of money, and you’d go down in Shamisen History as an innovator. BTW, do you think that 3D Printing a Bachi would make it possible to make a Hatsune Miku Bachi? I would buy that

How dare you, sir! :stuck_out_tongue:

That is awesome!! I agree with David, you should indeed strive to sell them! If they are flexible, that makes it really desirable.

Firstly, I would suggest stress-testing it. I’m not sure how strong ABS plastic is, but it would be good to strike it hard, tsugaru style. If it withstands a lot of abuse, then it’s perfect. :slight_smile: If it breaks, another material should be experimented with.

For the next level, it would be interesting if the bachi could be printed with a hollow space in the middle to insert a weight, and then filled in with plastic afterwards. Most bachi are weighted. I believe tsugaru bachi are between 130g~160g.