a mistake while making a sao

So i was making the sao for my home made shamisen. the piece of wood i had was way to big and i don’t have a power saw. so after working on it for little over a week, too much wood came off on the underside. how do i fix this? at the moment I am thinking of taking everything up to that deepest point. Then gluing another piece of wood to it to get it to the thickness it needs to be. i kinda drew inspiration of the akatsuki and eclipse. would this be good way to solve the problem without having to start over?

thank you in advance!!!

Hey Mark! Awesome to hear that you are tackling the challenge of making your own shamisen! I am also in the process of making my own shamisen as well (not my first instrument, I have been building instruments on my own for a hobby for about 10 years now or so), so hopefully I can provide some insight to your dilemma. I think it can depend on a few different things. First off, what type of shamisen are you making? Are you making a futozao (thick neck) tsugaru shamisen, or a thinner neck one? Also, what is the current thickness of the piece of wood you cut at the deepest point?

For a tsugaru shamisen, the neck is about 1.375", or around 35mm thick, but it could be a bit thinner or thicker if you wanted. Depending on how deep your deepest point is at the cut on your neck, I think you could definitely go with the glued top like akatsuki and eclipse to fix your problem. Actually, for my own shamisen that I am working on now, this is the route I am taking, and personally, I think it is a way cooler and much better looking option than the traditional solid piece style, and makes for a more unique shamisen. If you want, you can even try and make it extend into the tenjin like eclipse/akatsuki (also what I am doing with my own), though it takes a little bit extra planning. It’s definitely not necessary at all, but is another option to consider if you go this route on your build.