Complete Beginner Questions

Hi, all,

I’m a complete beginner with no musical experience beyond 1/2 a semester of keyboarding in high school (20 years ago this month). I just got out of a 14 year long unhealthy relationship, and I think music would be therapeutic. I want to learn an instrument in my lifetime. That being said, I’m extremely nervous when it comes to purchasing a shamisen. I’ve heard they’re extremely difficult to play and that it takes hours of practice every day to become proficient. Now, I know people tend to exaggerate. I’m just not sure how much. I forgot how to read music, so like I said, I’m pretty much a blank slate. Would you recommend I get into shamisen, or would you steer me toward a sanshin or something considered easier? What is the first thing I should learn? Also, is there a way to silence shamisen for apartment dwellers? Thank you!

Hey Jacob, welcome.

Any instrument you want to pick up is going to take time to learn, but hours a day for years on end to just be able to play? No, I don’t think that’s accurate for any instrument; unless you have aspirations for going pro.

Shamisen is, fundamentally, a simple string instrument although it does have a bit of learning curve. Above all, there’s probably two factors that need to be pointed out.

It lacks frets, so it can be difficult to properly finger the neck until you become acquainted with it. This also changes some of the techniques one can do on the neck vs fretted instruments like guitars.

The traditional playing method, a large plectrum called a bachi, is definitely awkward to use at first. However, it’s more than possible to play it with other picks or with one’s fingers.

The shamisen’s resonator, removable bridge, and striking force control the volume of the sound produced. Bigger resonators (such as tsugaru style instruments) are much louder than smaller (such as nagauta). A smaller resonator is a better idea if you’re worried about your neighbors.