Crescendo - Rokudan

Hi All,

I’m new to Bachido and new to playing the Shamisen.

I’ve been learning the Shamisen for about 2 months now and I am addicted to being able to play Rokudan perfectly.
My only problem is that I am stuck on playing the crescendo part at the beginning, 3 and 4 measures in at a good speed. Sure I can play it slow over and over and over again but when I up the tempo it all becomes a mess!

I’m just wandering if anyone has mastered this and how long it took to get this part perfect at a good speed and perhaps hear from people who have perfected this and may have some pointers.

I have watched Kyle Abbots - Rokudan slow speed video numerous times and also Kevin Kmetz video on the “secrets” of Rokudan which have some great info on this.

Cheers,

Steve,

Perth, Australia.

Hey Steve!
Welcome to Bachido!

So, when I was first learning Rokudan (And hey, it can always improve :p), any time I ran into a troublesome part, I just played those two or so phrases on repeat to really build the muscle memory.

That’s what I’d probably recommend for you, just slowly build speed as you get more comfortable with it, and don’t move on to the next part until you have this one down.

In the end as a beginner it really comes down to muscle memory and you just have to keep drilling until you get the feel down.

In the very, very beginning with the two 4300 phrases, you just have to kind of break down the motions (hit, hajiki, sukui, hajiki) and slowly work on building up speed.

Then, once you start going up and down the neck on the ichi no ito (6 6 6 9 9 9 10 10 10) with the sliding, for that part you just have to make sure you have a nice steady rhythm and it’s a good way to work on striking technique.