Curious about this chuko

I found a chuko shamisen but I can’t seem to find any information by what it means with the words Maruuchi-Do to describe the dou. Any ideas?

Under most circumstances, that means a shamisen with a smooth interior.

Compared to shamisen with decorative carvings on the inside or ayasugibori (herringbone patterned carvings meant to improve sound quality), they are usually cheaper and occasionally older.

A good visual comparison can be found here:

Whether or not ayasugi actually impacts sound quality is up in the air; but it’s usually a marker of a high-quality instrument due to the time required to carve the patterns.

I don’t mean to necro an older thread but I kinda freaked out over the weekend and saw that my shamisen had no pattern engraved on the inside - totally smooth like in the left pic above. I’m totally new to shamisen and thought maybe I got jipped or something. Christopher you are a wellspring of shamisen knowledge. Thank you.

So I’m pretty sure I have a Nagauta shamisen. Are these patterns typical for a particular style or just newer and/or more higher end instruments?

As far as I know, ayasugibori can be found in all types of shamisen presently. At the very least, I have seen all types of shamisen sporting it.

It is an indicator of cost an craftsmanship, although not the sole one.

I am not very well versed on its history, so I would be hard pressed to give a better answer than that.

Reigen once said that he preferred maru-uchi shamisen, tone-wise. I’m skeptical that one could notice a significant difference between the two, but considering I’m putting a rod in the nakago and sao to improve the tone, (which in reality probably won’t make any difference) that might be slightly hypocritical of me to say. :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ve identified ayasubi-bori shamisen before by sound alone, but I gotta say it’s hard to tell whether that speaks to the impact of the ayasugi themselves or the craftsmanship and materials as a whole.