Dissecting Enigma Force

Sakura didn’t really rock with me today so I decided to something more creative and started a project on Enigma Force, a classic from about exactly 30 years back. Worked on this:

(Another version, Enigma Force VGM - YouTube)

(And yet another, more faithful to the original I think Enigma Force (C64) - Main theme - YouTube)

Looking at DaTuner Lite, it says there’s a lot of B, C#, A# and G#. Maybe F# and G too. This process is a bit harder than one might think, perhaps a spectral analyzer or another type of application would be better? Anyway, is this a dead giveaway for a major scale, I think it’s in major…? Have to check some references.

I tried to hum it to my tuner app, and I tried to whistle it, it’s hopeless. It seems I’m using a different pitch with fixed (???) intervals every time, it doesn’t work for this but I take it means I’m a natural born shamisen musician :stuck_out_tongue:

So. Karl mentioned he’s working on some soft to convert midi into tabs a few years back. So I went looking for a midi and surprise surprise, there’s one for this game/theme as well. Loaded into LMMS already so I have the notes …

Notes seem to be C, C#, D#, E, F, F#, G#, A#, B.

Things are so easy nowadays 0.o

And already put it into niagari using Karl’s excellent web apps. Can’t wait till morning to try it out!

Computers are awesome B-)

I mean… it’s just the opening verse… but it’s a start =)

Well what can I say? There is a reason I work with computers as a profession :slight_smile:

It’s fun when you find a song that fits the shamisen. Remember that if you have the MIDI file you can easily transpose all tracks in it to fit the range of the instrument so that you can actually play along.