DIY Faux Bekko Bachi

So, I think this would be considered a faux bekko bachi, right?

Don’t think I have seen any post about such DIY project yet. I myself am not a very experienced shamisen player, but I do like to make stuff. Kyle recommended to play with it for awhile to test its durability. Hmm, no it’s not gonna break.

I have written a blog post about how I made this bachi. It costed about $10, but it was so much hassle that I have no plans on making another one… also since I have recently purchased a bekko bachi, yay! But hey, it certainly plays nicer than my plastic bachi.

http://www.chungwanchoi.com/diy-shamisen-bachi/

You did a really good job. Making a bachi can be quite challenging for as simple as they look. I’ve spent a lot of time over the past few months refining and tweaking the process that I use to make mine.

Yo, that’s neat. How’s the balance compare to the bekkou your purchased?

I am not very experienced in playing shamisen actually, so I am not sure what you meant by balance? Hmm, If I balance the bachi with one finger, the DIY bachi has a slightly higher (~1cm) balance point, compare to my bekkou bachi.

I should say that the DIY bachi is lighter than the commercial bachi (wood, plastic, bekkou), because I could only add steel instead of lead.

For the most part I was asking about weight and how it feels to play with, irrespective of the shaping on the grip.

I’ve had the privilege of playing with many different bachi since I started playing. Some have felt more top heavy, others more uniform.