Do you NEED fingernails?

I’ve not started learning the shamisen yet, but I’m interested. My issue is that I have messed up fingernails, and cannot grow many out at ALL. Do you actually need them to play? Can you use something on your fingers as a substitute?
Thank you for any help.

For the right hand, you use a plectrum so no need for fingernails.

The left however is different. I’m a beginner too but from what I’ve read / seen, it is recommended to use your nails to hold down the strings for best tone in certain situations. I’ve even seen figures depicting a “v” notch in the center of the fingernails to facilitate this. But from what I can tell, it’s only the index, middle and ring fingers that are commonly used for left hand technique.

Personally, I don’t bother with that just yet and am just focused on position accuracy, timing and volume control for now.

To build off of what Rob has said, traditionally you only do need a somewhat prominent fingernail on your left index finger, and only then just enough to be able to press down on the thinnest string (san no ito) with it. The other two strings are wound silk or nylon, and the way the strings are wound up would make it impossible to really use the fingernail anyway (sliding would sound like running your fingernail up a zipper, not pretty :p) so you don’t use the fingernail there anyway. Plus, you still use the middle and third finger on that string as well without using the fingernail for certain phrases anyway, though that’s mainly for kamashi and hajiki (“4300” type phrases, the name of which will make sense once you look at Tsugaru tablature and plucking with the finger for ornamentation).

What happens is that when you use the pad or tip of your finger without a nail, the tone on the thin string is a bit duller, whereas with one it makes sharper and clearer.