Exciting Attic Find

This trunk was given to me in 1980 by an older gentleman and his Japanese wife. It went into my attic and got buried, I finally found it today. It appears to contain a Shamisen in pieces with many parts, skins, and tools. As far as I can tell it is only missing a bridge. I assume it is from the '40’s or 50’s.Can anyone assess the age and quality from the markings?

markings?

1 Like

Wow… full set. Trully a great find!

Thanks so much for responding.
I don’t know anything about Shamisen, but I think the Gentleman gave me the trunk because I was a professional guitarist at the time and he knew me as a dedicated craftsman. I can tell the hardwood is very dense (like zebrawood, ironwood, etc.) and all of the tuning pegs and nuts are solid ivory and ebony.
Can anyone tell me anything based in these markings?

And does anyone know what this is?

It looks like the body of a small hand drum (kotsuzumi?). Otherwise, woaaaah!!! That´s like a huge treasure! :star_struck:

1 Like

Thanks for the replies!

Patrick,
What is that? It looks similar.

Bard

Stephanie was right. It is a kotsuzumi ( a small hand drum). Lucky you !

The first picture’s markings are likely the maker’s identity, and location of the shop.
Looks like the shop was in Yokohama.

I am so interested to the skin stretching gears and the amount of spare skins there is.
Wonder what skin they are!
Maybe your pegs are ivory?

Also looks like the kotsuzumi is incomplete, has no heads and robes.