fujaku for Nagauta shamisen

hi
I am a player of Nagauta shamisen and started my lessons 3 months ago with a japanese teacher (who came back to Japan for several months). I am a beginner and have some difficulties in finding the good position with my fingers to press the string.

Would the fujaku that you sold on your store be ok for me ?

Cheers

Frédéric from Paris

Hi Fred,

Yes, our fujaku will work with a nagauta shamisen. It’s really helpful. as finding the correct positions is very hard on a fretless instrument.

Cheers,
Kyle

The fujaku work with Nagauta? Aren’t their necks a different length than the tsugaru?

Though the neck thickness is different, I believe the length (or at least position locations) are the same. If not, I’ll make sure masahiro gets it for nagauta size.

Thanks guys and apologies for my belated reply.

Books of hauta and min’you scores used to come with a cheap paper fujaku. The numbers on the paper were meant for use with bunkafu notation, the same notation that we use for Tsugaru shamisen.
Most of the nagauta scores I’ve seen use a different system (kosaburoufu notation) based on pitch rather than position, so while a fujaku will tell you where the notes are (i.e. that you are not playing sharp or flat), the numbers will not coincide with those in nagauta scores.
Anyway, Kyle, maybe you could check your fujaku against the following measurements, with the position 1 as the starting point of 0 millimeters. If it is about the same ( I think it will be), then your fujaku should be fine for a nagauta shamisen. A note on the paper says position 1) should be placed a distance of 1 sun 1 bun (33 mm) from the kamigoma.
(edit: There are some formatting problems, but hopefully this will still make sense):

1. 0 mm

2. 53 mm

3. 89 mm

3#) 122 mm
4) 161 mm
5) 183 mm
6) 226 mm
7) 247 mm
8) 277 mm
9) 308 mm
9b) 326 mm
10) 357 mm
11) 375 mm
12) 401 mm
13) 419 mm
13# ) 436 mm
14) 455 mm
15) 467 mm
16) 488 mm
17) 498 mm
18) 514 mm