Hello and Materials

Hi, I’m new to the community, and I’ll warn you now I have a bad habit of lurking.

So I’m still about two or three months out from being able to start building my first shamisen. One(ish) tool a month is all my budget will let me purchase. However, I’ve been researching like mad what hardwoods are dense enough to make a shamisen out of. Being the occaisionally very girly girl that I am I really want to try working with Purpleheart (the thought of a rich purple coloured shamisen makes me a little giddy). It’s one of the cheaper hardwoods at my local lumberyard, and typically has a specific gravity of .85.

Has anyone ever worked with purpleheart before and have some advice? I’ve heard that the oils in it can burn if you use powertools too vigorously. However, I’m still very new to woodworking and I’m not sure what “too vigorously” means. Also does anyone have any idea how low the specific gravity of a wood can be before it’s too soft to make a decent shamisen out of?

Oh! and I just remembered another question. I’m not comfortable with the idea of making my own azuma sawari… Is there any way to purchase one to install on my shamisen when I get to that point of the construction?

Thanks, and here’s to hoping I don’t go into lurk mode too quickly. :slight_smile:

Hi Briana, welcome aboard!

A shamisen crafted from purpleheart sounds awesome! I love the idea of personally customised instruments.
Sadly my own woodwork-fu is weak so I’m not certain about answers to your questions. I’m pretty sure that Kyle will be able to offer some suggestions though.

Lurk mode disengaged! :slight_smile:

Welcome welcome Briana!