Ill fitting dou/sao and "white washed" skin?

Hello Bachido community!

I’ve had my shamisen for a couple of years now and have had to put the hobby on hold for awhile since my plastic shitty koma finally broke into a thousand pieces (right before a performance so I had to emergency tape it together and thank god it didn’t sound much worse than it already did).

But now I’m back and I want my shamisen in great shape and so I need your help with the issues I’ve had with it since I got it. I bought my shamisen cheap from ebay and have no regrets as of yet, since I am a poor student. However, when I got it I noticed the sao and dou didn’t connect that properly. There is a gap in the front and it slides out (which is no problem when the strings are tightened but obviously not great). There seems to have been a piece of wood glued onto the sao to make it at least stay fixed, but that is now broken so that function is gone.
What do you think about this? A non-matching sao and dou is my guess. Can I make it work again, by replacing the broken piece of wood?

Then my second issue. It said so in the description of the listing when I bought it but didn’t really understand it and haven’t seen it before. The skin is “white washed”. I don’t know what this means or why it was done and if it has any ill effects for my shamisen playing. Does anyone have a clue?

I added some pictures for both issues. I hope you can help me out!

http://imgur.com/a/THL0t

1 Like

Hi Daniek!

Welcome to the Bachido forum! Great to have you here! :slight_smile:

Oh no! Sorry to hear about your koma explosion before performance! Excellent that you were able to repair it just in time. That’s why every musician should always keep a roll of duct tape with them, for all musical emergencies!