Learning maebachi and ushirobachi threw my form off

Hi Bachifolk! I was wondering if I am the only one having issues with maebachi and ushirobachi? I’ve been playing on and off for about three years (due to work) and I haven’t used the technique until recently. Now that I am trying to learn it it is throwing my technique off and the songs I used to play well and now a little sloppy.

Any suggestions?

Hey there.

I’m not exactly sure what you’re looking for, suggestion wise.

Generally speaking, if you want to tighten up your playing, well… practice. Tsugaru Jinku/Dodarebachi are great pieces for practicing the basic tsugarubiki technique.

Could you give me a better picture of your issues?

I know the message was pretty vague. I was wondering if I am just inept at playing, haha. All of a sudden, when I started practicing using both, I started missing strings with my bachi, hitting two at once, stuff like that. I think I am just a little frustrated, haha.

I think that was just me venting.

I know what you talking about exactly and you need to rotate the arm and this playing with your position of the bachi as well, so you missing the strings… Same here. As Christopher says - more practice required :sunglasses:

Thanks Alexey! I was really frustrated with this but you’re absolutely right! Give me a month!
Have you had the chance to play any of the notations I sent you? Do you need more?

Nope, not yet. I am working currently on 2 pieces: Akita Ondo and Kuroishi Yosare Bushi.
Also trying to get hold on the maebachi - ushirobachi thing.
I am sure you seen this video:

This drill helps a lot!
Also I found it is much easier to switch maebachi-ushurobachi positions if your hand resting on doukake is bare. It prevents it from sliding during the position change.

No I haven’t seen this video yet. Thanks for the link!! How’s the playing going? Any videos??