Looking to buy a Tsugaru Shamisen!

Hi Bachido! As the title states, I’m looking to buy a tsugaru style shamisen, and I’m a little lost.

I’ve been playing with my beginner shamisen (naguata) for a good several years now and I would like to upgrade a little. I just don’t know what kind of quality instrument I should be looking for and what price range that would lie at.

I’ve seen the really gorgeous custom shamisen Kyle makes, as well as the more standard ones that are available to buy through Bachido.
I’ve also heard/seen some of the shamisen Catherine Thompson has made and that she’s made one for another bachido member a few months back, I believe.
Lastly, I’ve seen some on some unknown to me website that I have no idea the credibility of, and there’s also e-bay but that can also be somewhat of a gamble.

Basically, I would like your guys’ honest opinions on what a worthwhile buy is and I would hope to see what kind of options lie ahead of me.

Alright that pretty much sums it up. Thanks for your help in advance!

(As a side note: I already have a decent amount of accessories so certain package deals would probably be a little redundant for me. I have koma i’m comfortable with, as well as a good bachi, so if I were to look at certain accessories it would be more along the lines of doukake, neo, etc.)

Hey Tino!

I guess this is really an opinion thing haha. I’m not sure if be able to outline everything that makes a high quality shamisen so great (stuff like nice wood like kouki or high quality natural/Artificial skin is the stuff that inmediately comes to mind, an ayasugi dou (ridged, cut pattern on the inside) typically denotes higher quality and is way pricier but has little real effect beyond aesthetics imo).