Musical theory for Shamisen?

I have basic knowledge on musical theory and I’m curious about the musical theory surrounding the shamisen. For example: why is the shamisen tuned the way it is? Japanese music seems to be mostly in the minor scale; why is that? Correct me if I’m wrong but I notice that shamisen music is mostly melodic and rhythmic while there is no (or barely) use of harmony in the western sense and in the sense of instruments like a guitar or a ukulele (i.e. chords, chord progressions, etc); I’m also referring to the bachido schoolhouse videos where Kevin and Mike Penny teach how to play various scales and such.

Any thoughts?

1 Like

From Japanese Music & Musical Instruments by William P. Malm:

Since shamisen music is primarily vocal music there is no fixed basic pitch to which the instrument is tuned. It varies from G to D, B being used most commonly in transcriptions. It must be remembered, therefore, that the pitch of any transcription of shamisen music is arbitrary or, at the most, represents only the tonality of the one particular performance from which the transcription was made. Thus, there is no set pitch for a composition such as a song in B flat major or a symphony in D minor. There is, however a concept of “happy” and “sad” tunings which is found in our major-minor concept in the West.

2 Likes

I bought a shamisen VST for around a year ago and I was very gladly surprised that it came with a bunch of traditional japanese scales that I didn’t know of and don’t seem easy to find regular info about.

I even asked in some music forums for someone who could teach me japanese traditional music theory, I would have even paid for it but no one ever answered :frowning:

If I find the time for it I’m planning to make something like a graphic reference of these scales because I could really need them when working with other instruments

3 Likes