New to shamisen-

Greetings!

I’m completely new to shamisen, or playing any musical instrument for that matter. I also have no training or experience with reading music. I’ve always loved the gorgeous music of the shamisen (thanks to the Yoshida Brothers), but didn’t decide to take the plunge until I watched Kubo and The Two Strings. So, I recently ordered a “vintage” used shamisen from ebay for a really reasonable price: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Japan-Vintage-SHAMISEN-Set-Classic-Stringed-Instrument-CYUZAO-w-Soft-Case-3349-/262875512997?roken=cUgayN&soutkn=CkUUZl

It came in the mail today, and I’m beyond excited to start this journey. Unfortunately, I have a few issues, the koma was broken in shipping (which I’ve contacted the seller about), and the itomaki are confusing me.

My issue with the itomaki: Mine aren’t exactly marked with any indication as to the order of their placement, with the exception of one itomaki that has two dots on it. That would be number 2, correct? The other two itomaki have no markings, so I’m not sure which is 1 or 3. I keep referencing the pictures on ebay, and I think I have the correct order, except one of the itomaki is reluctant to fit in any of the holes snugly (without a little muscular, yet gentle, persuasion).

Can anyone tell me how I tell which itomaki go where, if there aren’t any indicators? And, does the order actually matter? I can send some photos of mine, if that would be better for answering my question.

Also, any advice on where I should begin my practice/training? Or, any advice in general would be great!

Thanks!

Hi Kristina. Can you send a picture of the itomaki showing the holes for the strings ? It could help to find out.

Hi Kristina,