New top skin for Antique Shamisen

Hello everyone! I just signed up and am looking forward to a long, great relationship with all of you, and i can’t wait to see and hear all the helpful tips from the site.

I am a complete newb at shamisen and have a shakuhachi (Which i am also pretty new at). I have been wanting a shamisen for a long time and finally have found something within my “price range” (i’m 17 years old).

I just won an auction for an antique japanese rosewood shamisen on Ebay, and it’s in perfect condition other than the top skin. I quote from the product information: “This shamisen has been well played yet well loved and, with the exception of needing new top skin, remains in very fine condition”.

My only question is, how do i repair the top skin/get a new skin? The seller is from Portland, USA and i live in Denmark. And how much would a top skin cost? I’ve looked at the “Repair Skin” site here (http://bachido.com/products/repair-skin) and it’s really helpful, but i don’t have any idea which skin i should get.

Looking forward to your help guys! Thanks in advance

I just looked and compared the prices of the two types of skin.
The calf skin by Jessica costs $95 while the FiberSen synthetic skin costs approx. $273.

As a starter, what do you guys recommend? I am on a very low budget, and near broke right now, since i just spent my money on the shamisen, so i really want to know.

• Another question is:
    Can anyone tell me what type of shamisen this is? I really hope it’s a tsugaru shamisen, but if it’s not then that is okay too.

Hello Anton. It’s a nice karin nagauta shamisen. You can check this page : http://bachido.com/overview/shamisen-styles. That will help you to identify your shamisen. By the way I noticed that the kamigoma is missing. You will need a new one : http://bachido.com/products/hardware-parts.

Hello Patrick! Thanks for the helpful reply.
What do i need a kamigoma for? :slight_smile: