Scale and Chord Charts

This blog post is intended to provide my fellow players with chord charts and scales for the Tsugaru shamisen, along with some accompanying chart explanation and some information about myself and my journey with this incredibly enjoyable instrument.

Note: Charts available at end of article.

About Me

I am a 21 year old music lover and business student from Houston, Texas. I graduated in May of 2015 from Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas with a degree in accounting, and I’m currently pursuing my MBA. I have been a member of Bachido since shortly after its founding, and have felt that it’s been absolutely invaluable in my experience with the shamisen. Eventually, I plan on making it to one of Kyle’s Bachido meetups in Japan or California; university schedules have been unkind to me in that regard over the past few years, as I’ve always had tests or papers due during one of the planned get-togethers.

I’ve been playing guitar for eight years and shamisen for almost five years now – though there’s about a 2 year chunk there where I couldn’t play shamisen often due to college apartment living. Neighbors aren’t fans of chainsaw-level decibels next door, as luck would have it.
I’ve also recently taken up the piano, as I’ve always wanted to play more difficult pieces with both bass and melody lines that are nearly impossible on a lone stringed instrument. Despite that, I still play guitar and shamisen as often as I can, as they have a special place in my heart.

My Journey with the Tsugaru Shamisen

I was introduced to shamisen, incidentally, through the original Nintendo Wii commercials in America, which featured the song “Kodo (Inside the Sun Remix)” by the Yoshida Brothers. I was captivated by the sound of the instrument in the song and quickly took to the internet to discover anything I could about what the musicians were playing.