Science behind Ayasugi bori?

I have been looking for the past two weeks on information if the ayasugi bori affects the sound of the Shamisen and how. I have come two the conclusion that it is mainly a matter of opinion but i am still unsure. Does any one have any information on how it influences the sound. I’ve heard comments that it is like the structure on a concert call, yet that does not sound convincing to me at all due to the longitude of the sound wave. Maybe someone that has sound equipment to measure the actual differences, I 'm not sure, but I am really wanting to know if this is a mater of an opinion or not.

I’m not a sound engineer, but I can’t imagine that a concert hall and the inside of a dou are at all comparable. Concert hall design is all about directing sound toward the audience while maximizing the right kind of reverb and killing the wrong kind (aka, echoes). I don’t see that this applies to the inside of a dou at all.

I have no doubt ayasugi bori changes the sound, though. Sound travels more like ripples in a pond (but in 3D - in all directions) than in a direct line. The sound waves (or some portion of those waves) will hit the baffles and they will affect how the sound travels. I assume this means they they will bounce around in a more chaotic nature.

Does this scientifically produce a “better” sound? Is this even measurable? I have my doubts. Something like this will always be heavily subjective. The same can be said about natural vs synthetic skin or bekkou vs faux bekkou. It’s a subjective measurement vs a subjective standard. Reading various stuff on the web about ayasugi bori seems to support this, as there is not even 100% agreement whether it actually does improve the sound.