Shamichan is finally in my arms!

Hello, call me Hanae. :stuck_out_tongue: I have lurked on this forum for a little bit. I have been dreaming of owning a shamisen for the last 15 years. I love geigi so I specifically wanted a nosozao shamisen. My mom wanted me to get futozao because she thinks tsugaru style is way cooler than “boring old kouta.” I got my nosozao, lied to her but now she knows and I am practicing jon-garas to appease her.

I have been practicing “shamisen” for the last few months with what I could find online, and using a plastic ukelele tuned to niagari/sansagari mostly. I also made my own bachis out of whittled cedar (softwood; it wore down LOL) and clothespin + wrapped painter’s tape (which was surprisingly easy on the ito despite making a good sound).

I ordered a nagauta/nosozao shamisen from Murasaki Music for my birthday! There she is! Even though the shipping was actually very fast, it was a long week of waiting dreamily for Shamichan. Yesterday, she arrived!!!

I was so happy to receive shamichan but she is totally not what I expected. After wanting a shamisen for so long, I thought it would feel like meeting an old friend; Honestly, she feels very foreign but she is SOOOO beautiful. I am a little worried about some of the damage, but my bank account is empty so I must improvise with what I have around me. Not much to be found in rural Ohio. :slight_smile: I don’t have money but there is wood working machinery in the garage and my dad is a wood cutter, so we have blocks, logs, stacked wood
 every kind. I would appreciate any guidance.

The kawa on the back is ripped as described, but shamichan still sounds pretty good. I live in poverty, so ripped skin isn’t a big deal. But, would it be ok to try to cover the back? I thought about using painters tape to seal the hole or even just covering the back with a panel of cardboard for now, to prevent further breakdown until I can think about new skins.