Shamisen Notation App

Hi all! Hello all! Quick intro: I’m a software developer, shamisen enthusiast, and occasional creator of bachi. I have been working with Kyle on and off (sorry for all the “off” parts, @Kyle_Abbott!) for a while trying to build a shamisen notation editor. I’ve had a bit of a breakthrough recently and have begun to get serious about it. I’m trying to figure out a distribution/usage model for the editor.

There are options for both online and offline experiences. For both online and offline experiences, there will be apps for Mac, Windows and probably iPad. Online will also include a web app. For online, all data will be 100% private and will be stored fully encrypted so no one but you will have access to your notations (not even site admins). Notations will be shared between all of your devices automatically. You can download any or all of your notations (both as PDF and raw data) at any time, so there will be no long-term lock-in. Note that for all experiences, there will be no public sharing of files because of copyright considerations (although there is nothing that would stop you from downloading your notations and sharing them on your own).

The reality is, unfortunately, that none if this free. For online experiences there will be server/hosting costs, and I will have to pay once a year developer fees for development/distribution on Apple devices even if I only do an offline app. So, how does this stuff get paid for? Well, I was hoping all of you could help me figure that part out. Here are the choices I am looking at to cover my costs: