Starting on a budget?

Hey guys,

I’ve been looking into learning to play the shamisen, but its hard for me to be able to put a lot of money into buying one as a college student.

At the moment I could probably put forth $350 and maybe up that to $500 or so if I wait a month.

Is it possible to get into learning this instrument at this price point?

I’ve noticed some talk of vintage shamisen on etsy and ebay that might fit into my price range but I have no previous knowledge on how to judge the quality of the instrument.

If possible, it would be nice if I could get some recommendations on what I could buy. At the very least it would be nice to get something to see if I would want to invest in the instrument in the future when I may have a larger budget.

Hey Drew, welcome!

See, the thing about those etsy and eBay shamisen are that oftentimes the skin is broken, or they’re otherwise just not in good condition. And to fix the skin or any other issues might raise that price point quite a lot.

But it IS totally possible to start around your budget! Or at least will be, once you get to around that 500 if you want higher quality synthetic skin as opposed to natural or plastic.

I don’t know which style you’d like to learn in particular (tsugaru, nagauta, jiuta, Minyo, etc) but any of these can be started on any kind of shamisen, at least.

Personally I recommend the Beginners Shamisen from the store here - it’s between 350 and 550 dollars depending on your choice of skin, and it’s actually a pretty nice instrument despite what is in the grand scheme of shamisen a low price. It sounds great and is a wonderful place to start! If you don’t want to worry about a natural skin (which could tear or be otherwise damaged without proper care) I think the Fibersen is worth it, it sounds great and holds up great against the changing weather.