The Nagauta Think Tank

Hi everyone! My name is Gabriel, and I’m a new member of the Bachido community.

First let me say how AMAZING it is that this web-community even exists.
I’ve been immersed in traditional Japanese music for a while now. I started playing koto when I was 13 from a teacher who also taught jiuta shamisen and minyo. I always wanted to learn shamisen as well, but at that time (about 13 years ago now) the only way to buy the instrument was to have it imported directly from Japan. As many of you probably remember, this made the cost prohibitive.

Years later, after seeing this thriving online community of shamisen enthusiasts, I decided to take the plunge and purchase a preowned nagauta shamisen from eBay.
I’m so stoked! I plan on having it reskinned for good measure, but other than that it seems that the instrument as a whole is in wonderful condition.

After doing some investigation in the forum, it appears that there are a fair number of people here who, like myself, would like to explore the nagauta style and repertoire. I think it would be nice if we had a place on the forum to exchange resources, sheet music/bunka-fu, useful youtube examples, etc…

My old koto teacher (Garett Ueno of Indianapolis) was an AMAZING source for jiuta/minyo technique, but it looks like you guys are my best hope for nagauta.

Has anyone found tablature for musume dojoji, kanjincho, or maybe kagamijishi?