Thinking about making templates for Finale, Sibelius, and Dorico

Hi guys,

Having trolled around the interwebs the past few days looking for modern methods to engrave shamisen music, I stumbled across @threedaymonk and his LilyPond extension (awesome, btw: Making Tsugaru notation with LilyPond) and @JCBq with his musescore font (Musescore Shamisen Font)

Unless someone has already done this, I am planning on making some templates in Finale, Sibelius, and Dorico for shamisen notation. The bulk of my time is spent in these programs for my work, and I have not been able to find anything in these geared for shamisen–but I could be wrong. Since these are the three main engraving programs on the market, I think it would be awesome to see shamisen notation available in them.

Since I am still fairly new to shamisen and to its notation system, it would be a great help if there was a catalog of the symbols and their locations. If this exists, or if someone would like to assist with this, I would greatly appreciate it.

Here’s to making legible music!

There’s a pretty comprehensive overview in @Kyle_Abbott’s book (Shamisen of Japan). Based on that and my experience of other handwritten and commercially produced notation:

• It’s a three line tablature with the lowest pitch, first string at the bottom.
  • Positions are marked as semitones (i.e. “fret” numbers) omitting the major 3rd and major 7th. These two are instead usually marked as ♯ and ♭ on neck stickers and can be marked as just ♯ or 3♯ or 4♭ etc. in notation depending on what makes more sense. This means that there are ten numbered positions in the octave, so 10 is the octave, 13 is an octave above 3, etc.
  • Most music is in 2/4 time, and the metre is usually written above the score along with the tuning
    • Sometimes the tuning is also written against each string at the start of the piece, in alphabet or katakana solfège (ド = C etc.)