Tuners on a shamisen?

Hi Everyone,

I just got my first Shamisen yesterday! (yay)
I’ve been playing stringed instruments for 15 years now and I’m quite used to tuning 8 to 20 strings before playing. But nothing so far has been as frustrating as trying to get my itomaki to stay where they are supposed to. Note: I am using nylon mono-filament as strings since silk is impossible to get in europe and I don’t want to have to wait for weeks to get new strings if I break some…

So here’s my question/idea. Even though itomaki are by far the coolest looking tuning pegs on the planet, wouldn’t it be possible/better to put planetary violin tuning pegs on it to make everything easier? As an amateur luthier I have the tools and experience needed to make this work probably but I just wanted to know if this is some kind of heresy or if someone has tried putting tuners on their shamisen.

Thanks

I guess as one who simply (eventually) superglued e guitar mechanics into those holes I should say go ahead :slight_smile:

seriously though and I guess it’s a second or third hand instrument you have . . . should it be in overall good condition I would definitely try some more to get the authentic system working (sanding itomakis anew / reaming the holes the right way anew / using violin resin or toothpaste on those itomakis for additional friction or should it be beyond serious repair (with regard to your skills or financing someone else’s skills) as it unfortunately was in my case I would say as a last resort there then is no heresy in doing whatever to make the thing at least somewhat playable :wink: