Twisted itomakis

Hello shami buddies,

I’m looking for building my first itomakis and I veeeeeery like the twisted ones like one the eclipse shamisen

Does anyone ever try to build these ? Do you have any tips ? :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Florian

1 Like

I love the look of these too. I’ve zero experience carving but I found this video on how to make “barley twists” and I suspect the technique is the same or very similar.

Oh I like the idea for having a regular curve, exactly what I searched for ! Thanks !

This is it, they are finally installed :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

If someone is interrested, here’s my process :

I ordered 1 bloc on amboyna and 3 blocs of ebony from https://www.comptoirdesboisprecieux.com/ :
Loupe d'Amboine (broussin) stabilisé en BLOC XXL
Ébène du Gabon en carrelet stylo

As I don’t have that much space for the amboyna, I need to use manual saw for cutting so I asked my father who is more able than me for cutting straight :rofl:

Thus, this is time for tenons and mortises. I aimed for 10mm long tenon with a width of 8mm as the join between amboyna and ebony will be 20mm width (more or less a third of it).

This is not the better joint of my carreer :sweat_smile: so I used epoxy resin to glue pieces together, mixed with the ebony sawdust to have an “invisible” join and filling holes. I like epoxy because once it is dry, you can work it like wood (especially when you want to fill a resin knot on a conifer wood :wink:)

As this is very hard woods, I used my belt sander for the biggest part of the work. As my work isn’t straight, I didn’t want to use wood lathe because I feared to loose to much wood

(my dog is supporting me :rofl:)

Then, applying the same method linked by @MMXIX, I draw my lines for carving. I tried to use a wood gouge but my first attempts scared me as the amboyna comes off in scales. So here we go with sand paper grain 40 :

and same process for sanding the ebony part, until finally :