What is "in-tune"?

Greetings, new to Bachido forum, new to Tsugaru shamisen. I am currently slowly learning first step of Rokudan.

As a piano technician, I practice tuning equal temperament (ET) for piano, there are typically 243 strings. Naturally, I wonder what is “in-tune” in terms of shamisen? There are many posts regarding “tuning” as of tuning of the 3 strings. This doesn’t tell me anything about the interval relationship of the strings, since C-G (5th) in ET is slightly smaller than pure 5th (3:2 harmonic). My impression is that, since the repertoire is traditional/folk style (non-chromatic), C-G for shamisen would more likely to be pure 5th.

I do have the Korg shamisen electronic tuner but I can’t tell what it’s tuning is (the sound is very unpleasant to listen to, so I didn’t make huge afford listen to it.) Because of my tuning training, I can tune the 2nd and 3rd strings from the 1st string by ear accurately. I tune the 2nd string (whether F or G, in terms of C scale) pure. I like it because it’s quieter (less beating on the trained ears.)

I don’t know what people use to tune their shamisen, if they used random tuning apps, they would probably tune their strings according ET. That is, with 2nd string slightly flat. Is that then in tune or not? Of course, human ears are prone to slight out of tune, I might as well be over-sensitive. Nonetheless, we use open strings a lot, and they are references to practice of pitch accuracy. Hmm, so I thought it worth asking. Thanks!

Hey there, Welcome to Bachido!

In essence:

Traditional tuning falls into three patterns.

Honchoushi, Niagari, Sansagari. For the sake of examples, we’ll be referring to a 4本 (yohon) or C tuning.

In Honchoshi, your first and third strings are tuned to the same key and the second string is raised to a relative fourth.

For example

C - F - C