Yet another air travel question :)

Hi all; I’m new here. Never even touched a shamisen yet but that will change in January when I start taking lessons and I am soooo excited :slight_smile:

I’m going to Japan for five weeks in February and my teacher says he can hook me up with a decent tsugaru shamisen for beginners from a shop he already has a relationship with (I think it’ll be around the 65,000円 range) and have it sent to my hotel, which is perfect.

The only thing is, I am most definitely on a budget and I wasn’t planning on buying an expensive hard case to take it home… after all, as a beginner, I have no idea where I’ll be with it in a year or two’s time.

Is it true that the sao of some beginner shamisen can’t be dismantled? I wonder if this price range would be dis-mantle-able? (Good word invention, I know.)

I was hoping to follow Kyle’s advice here on the site and put carefully pack the dou in my carry-on and maybe carry the sao wrapped in bubble wrap or in a soft-style case in my hand. Or, would it be crazy to bring the whole shamisen in a soft-style case in carry-on? I’m flying out of Narita so I feel like they should understand why it’s delicate and not force me to chuck it in the hold at the gate… the most delicate thing I’ve ever travelled with was a wedding dress and they were lovely about it, but we all know how air travel can be.

Any suggestions/ideas/etc. welcome!

Hey there,

I have made good experiences with the airport staff at Narita, just talk to them at the baggage check-in. They’ve let me take a biwa on board a few years ago and last year I could take my new shamisen, along with the hardcase (which was pretty big) and everything, on board too.
It may depend on the Airline too, but if you’re flying with ANA, Lufthansa or other Star Alliance Members, then there should be no problem.