looking for places to repair outside of US

Hey everyone~!!!

So I am currently studying in Japan for a year and I am taking a shamisen class that is offered at my school. My class has other students from various country and they all seem very interested in shamisen. The class unfortunately only meets once a week and we are not able to borrow the shamisen to practice outside of class. I believe several students really want to buy one of their own so they practice and eventually bring back to their home country to continue learning. The only issues are they seem to be having trouble finding a cheap enough shamisen to begin with, but more importantly (if they do buy one) where to get repairs once their back home.

So does anyone happen to know people that shamisen repairs (like re-sinking) outside of the US? I know couple people are from Finland, Germany, and i think China (I’m not sure exactly where all my classmates are from), but if anyone knows of anyone that does repair anywhere, could you let know so i can pass the info on .

Thank you

Finland? Sounds interesting, we don’t have many players in this country!

For NA: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIse7_iHhRc

I think in Europe there’s a few people with the capacity (Helsinki has one person who’s built some shamisen before). But I’m not sure if anyone provides the service, we’d need that.

In most cases I’d prepare to ship/travel to Japan.

hey yow! If anyone is in SE Asia (N. Thailand) I could probably do some repairs… and whatnot :slight_smile:
Very cool that you have shamiclasses at your school.

Hi! I studied re-skinning of shamisen in Tokyo and have re-skinned many kouta and nagauta shamisens in Helsinki, Finland. I have never repaired tsugaru shamisen. For nagauta I use thin and white drum head goat skin.