Nagauta, Jiuta, or Tsugaru?

Hello bachido, I have an important question. Im new to the shamisen community and am in fact shamisen-less. Unfortunately I am broke so the beautiful shamisen on bachido are out of my price range even though they’re reduced. I have been searching all over the net and especially ebay for a more affordable shamisen. Now here’s the question. What shamisen would be the best choice if I want to learn various styles on the one shamisen?

Hey there~

Speaking as someone who learned both minyo and tsugaru minyo on a nagauta shamisen, any style of minyo can be played on any style of shamisen. What it really comes down to is personal comfort and need. If at this moment a tsugaru would break your bank, then jumping in with a cheap(er) nagauta/jiuta would be best. That way you can get a feel for the instrument and learn a couple tunes.

I eventually needed to upgrade because the volume produced from a nagauta dou is not nearly loud enough when playing next to a tsugaru shamisen.

Hope this helps you on your path to procuring a shamisen~

Thank you, that definitely helps a lot :slight_smile:

So I have learned from my nagauta teacher and a koto teacher who plays jiuta that nagauta and jiuta are played on a chuuzao shamisen. The position of the bachikawa changes depending on the style of music you play because of where you hit with the bachi. I have a hosozao which I have heard is to play minyo music, but it is perfect for me to play any kind of music on it because I have very small hands(I study naga-uta). I suggest first figuring out what musical style you want to play because like Adrian said, you can learn any style on a chuuzao.