New Shamisen Player!

Hello!
I’m happy to be a part of the community!

I’m brand new to the Shamisen scene.

I bought a Shamisen [ The Suzuki brand - Beginners Shamisen ]
Without knowing there were better ones here.

Oh well, too late! D:
I hope I will be able to learn just as well on this instrument.

I will eventually save up for something else here later, once I feel confident enough to move on from this one.

Please do let me know any tips or tricks as a noobie! I would really appreciate it!
I don’t have anyone here in my area who can teach me how to play, but I will be using the resources here to help me along.

Thank you!

1 Like

Something like this?

https://global.rakuten.com/en/store/auc-bloomz/item/suzuki-kaede-set-fea/

It’s fine to start on. The synthetic leather will not be as resonant or sound completely correct, but you’ll be able to practice just fine.

Use the bachido school house to get an idea of playing. The crashcourse will run you through a few basic playing techniques as well as tsugaru phrases. Youtube also has a large number of videos that are geared towards beginners if you can Japanese a little, and a smaller number if you can’t.

The only real tip I’ll give you is to play every day.

Every day.

Yeah, that’s the one!
That is okay! I expected as much!
I’m happy I’ll just be able to practice on it until I am comfortable.

Thank you!

Every day! Got it! :smiley:

Kyle’s book is absolutely fantastic for beginners!

@Sashabg81
Thank you for letting me know!

Any and all material to help me out is very appreciated!

You are very welcome! Also, don’t worry about the quality of your shamisen right now. Get to know what it feels like when you play it, learn the positions of all the notes (ongoing battle), and how to properly strike with bachi. There will ALWAYS be a better shamisen out there, no matter what you or anyone else has.

:slight_smile: