Position markers - book and video

Hello. Nice to meet you! A total newbie here. ;-D

Just received my reskinned used Minyo (Chuzao, I believe) back from Kyle-the-Wonderful yesterday. Started on the Crash Course and I have a noob question: the position market cm is different from noted on the book. Am I missing something?

Just in case the picture didn’t load. On the video, it says position 6 is on 26.5cm. But the book says 26.6. Just 1mm difference, that’s fine. But then it says position 9 is at 35.5cm. While the book says 35.1. Now it’s 4mm! Position 10 is at 5mm difference. What should I do? :sweat_smile:

Thank you so much!!

1 Like

I used the numbers in the book and it’s working fine. I don’t think it’s an exact science anyway since the location of the koma can alter the sound slightly as well, as well as the tuning of the instrument.

1 Like

Oh thank you! :pray:
Just stick to one then. Good to know! Also good that I don’t have perfect pitch. :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

I used position #4 as the guide because it is right on the line where the two pieces of the sao meet.

Ah. That’s true. Good point! My #4 is at 20cm. Same as the book. So I can just follow the book.

Or tune the string to a perfect C and check if #4 is on Fa… Because there are 6 dot markings done by the original owner (including the #4) with nail polish. The 5 lower neck dots are NOT on the book or video position. :joy:

Haha, it’s definitely a stresfull time, putting on the markers, haha.
If you use position 4, you will have the best results as 4 is set in stone. (Wood)
Also, the position of your koma will affect the tuning so pay attention to that as well. I learned the hard way, took me a week amd a few emails to Kyle, haha. :man_facepalming:t5::man_facepalming:t5::man_facepalming:t5::man_facepalming:t5::man_facepalming:t5::man_facepalming:t5:

Thank you, Aleksandar! Use #4 as the base, it is!