Review of Kuboki Juuichirou's Tsugaru Shamisen Famous Songs Compilation

I recently got two shamisen textbooks brought over from Japan, so I thought I’d share some of my thoughts on this one as I’ve been sucked into it, and have been using it for about 2 months now.

About me

Profile Erez!

I’ve been playing Tsugaru Shamisen for almost 3 years now. I started with a teacher, but now that I’ve moved away from Japan I needed material to teach myself. The book is in Japanese, and my Japanese level is about intermediate, however I haven’t needed much beyond the basic Tsugaru vocabulary when reading the tablature i.e. スリ、ハ、二上り、 and song names etc. I’m embarrassed to admit I don’t actually have a copy of Kyle’s famous book, [Whaaattt??? - Kyle] so I can’t compare the two. I did however get another book too called 津軽三味線入門 ALL IN ONE, and so I’ll talk a little about that book in the end for comparison.

About the book

This is Kuboki’s second tsugaru shamisen book, and is a higher level than the first (which I don’t have). It starts straight off with Jongara bushi, and so if you can play Rokudan comfortably this is a good next step for you. It is also cheap (about 2500Yen), a lot cheaper than other Japanese instructional books I’ve seen which are around 6000yen, and comes with an Audio CD.

Song listings

• Jongara Shin Bushi
  • Aiya bushi (Major)
  • Aiya bushi (Minor)
  • Ohara bushi
  • Yosare bushi
  • Sansagari
  • Tanto Bushi
  • Tsugaru Ondo
  • Kita no daichi (Original song by author)
  • Yakugen (Original song by author)

CD contents

Every song is played in the CD and in addition there are slow versions of Jongara, Aiya (major and minor), Tanto at the end of the CD. There is actually a minor bug in the CD printing that the Regular and Slow versions of Aiya major are reversed on the CD, but that’s not really a big deal.