Shamisen in Japan

Hello, I am currently in Japan. Is it possible to buy the beginner’s shamisen from Bachido in Japan somewhere? If not, is it possible to go to where they are made and buy one there? I am a student and am only able to pay around that amount… but really want to try :slight_smile:

1 Like

@Kyle_Abbott Will be able to better answer your question - but I know the answer is yes!

The store on this website is primarily oriented towards U.S. shipping or similar, international destinations. It’s possible to order from it to Japanese local destinations, but I think Kyle has to do some manual editing for shipping and such.

If you take a gander below:

https://bachidowarehouse.com/store/product-list/

This is the bachido warehouse site! It’s angled at the Japanese-local customer base.

Alternatively, you could look at https://shami1000rakuya.com/

This is a shop local to my area that may also be able to help you.

1 Like

Thanks for your question, Amanda, and thanks for your reply, Christopher! :slight_smile:
Yes indeed! The shamisen are made and shipped from Japan. While we don’t have a store front there, we can ship one to your address in Japan.

What’s more, if you happen to be in Tokyo or Ibaraki, my partner might even be able to hand deliver it to you, if he has time. :slight_smile:

Cheers!
Kyle

3 Likes

Thank you both for replies :slight_smile:

I will actually be in Tokyo from 5 -19 august !! That sounds awesome if possible.

Would you happen to know how to transport it back to Denmark? :rofl: will they charge me extra fees?

Oh great! That will work then! :smiley:
All you’ll have to do is order the shamisen with the paypal link on the site (I can refund the shipping costs afterwards), email me with any information about a shipping address (or which area of Tokyo you can easily meet) and we can proceed from there! :slight_smile: