The Akita Nikata Bushi Challenge!

Yo Bachido! (that’s a rhyme if you didn’t notice)

So it was suggested to me that I host the Akita Nikata Bushi Challenge since I talked about how I started learning it. Well, here it is!

Basically I do not have any prize but we at Bachido simply want YOU to try and learn more songs as it will improve your technique and badassness.

The song is played with a pattern that involves using quite some force while slipping from one string to the next, then lift the bachi and hit the string you slipped to again and then strike it yet again with an upstroke. To learn this song, you will have to gradually learn this technique by starting SLOW.

It’s great fun, and you will hopefully enjoy your own progress. This song will make you a better shamisen player for sure.

Don’t forget that the song is tuned in Honchoushi!

Here is my first attempt. Now I’m not playing 100% to what Kyle’s book says but that’s where I learned it from.There’s a lot of mistakes but that’s why this is a challenge for me to. I also kinda play it twice. And since I have new strings the thing went out of tune towards the end :stuck_out_tongue:

So obviously I have to challenge myself just as any player out there. I want to be able to stand on one leg on a pole in the ocean and play this song without a single mistake.

So start practicing and show your progress!

I want to be able to stand on one leg on a pole in the ocean and play this song without a single mistake.

Challenge accepted.

Your move.

In response to this, I’d like to say I want to see more videos like this, and, as Kevin was saying the other day, we should think about doing cool, crazy things like this more often to better advertise and get the word out about our hogaku community. Great vid Kyle.

Love it Kyle!
I think I’ll start with just the song… lol.
Later!

Haha! Man, it was supposed to be just a metaphore, but you really did it! Great job!