Using...a bow?

I’m sorry if this question is a little (okay, maybe a lot) crazy, but I have really been wondering about it! Is it possible to play a Shamisen with…a bow? By bow, I mean like you do with a Violin. I am not very good with the technical aspects of instruments, but from what I can tell, it should be possible? I know it goes against tradition, but I really wonder if it’s possible and how it would sound. That’s probably because I come from a Viola background though.

What do you guys think? Thanks so much!

There’s the Kokyuu, which was discussed recently in another thread, which is essentially a miniature Shamisen that’s played with a bow. I think you could technically do it, but you’d have to maybe have a custom made koma to position the strings in a way that is bow friendly. Might also be a little awkward to hold. Welcome to Bachido. :slight_smile:

Hello Eric, and thank you for the welcome! I’m so sorry, I didn’t realize the Kokyuu was recently discussed. But I am also really new to the world of traditional Japanese instruments.

I am strongly interested in learning the Shamisen, but often my 8 years of playing Viola back in school comes to mind and I wonder if I could try some bowed pieces as a side project.

I would have to imagine bowing would be simular to a cello, but sitting in your lap? It might be more awkward with a large tsugaru, but I wonder if one of the smaller types of Shamisen might work well? Instead of just getting the traditional Kokyuu, it would be nice to have a shamisen that can be played either way.

That said…where would you find a custom made koma? Do you think they would be expensive?

Hey, I wasn’t criticizing, I just meant there might be some leads for you in some of the recent discussions, I couldn’t remember which one, but I’m pretty sure it was in the thread for the bachicast episode 12.